the edited edition of myself (a poem by Starla)

Have the faith to love simply in your heart; do what needs doing in a loving way; notice one’s own folly; smile at the human situation. We are all weak. we are all human. If we were not, love would be unnecessary. In effect, we change when we realize our weakness without losing sight of the love that enfolds us.
by David Brazier

 

oh yes ..my folly

my weaknesses

part of being human

a love of sweets

and potatoes

the downfall of my belly guts

gaining me pounds

that no one sees but me

because “Oh your so tiny!”

and yet this insecurity a pot belly can give you is real

I have an aversion to exercise

and a love of all reading material

magazines

books

blogs

and eye candy like pinterest

This aversion doesn’t help my “so tiny feel”

But this isn’t only about frame and pounds

more about weak moments that creep

like worry and fear

of being useless

and invaluable

and generally overlooked

its more about shifted perspectives

to meet people pleasing

and then anger at those people

and then realizing they aren’t the one who moved

So I go to my center place of balance again

to the loving GOD  and seeing the me he  created 

and sharing that instead of the “ME” I think you want me to be

the edited edition of myself

Here’s to walking the rest of today in my own shoes !

(Starla blogs regularly here at Poet’s Prose)
*to purchase a copy of Emily’s new book, Chasing Silhouettes: How to help a loved one battling an eating disorder, please click here.

2 thoughts on “the edited edition of myself (a poem by Starla)

Leave a Reply

