where does my worth come from? {psalm 139, rewritten} (guest post by becky strahle)

It’s funny how God puts people in your life to help you along the way.  A conversation with a friend, a forwarded email and a decision to pursue an assignment really opened my eyes to some beauty this week.

I’ve been struggling a bit with self worth.  Where does my worth come from? Why do I feel like I’m on a constant roller coaster of acceptance of who I am??  My favorite scripture passage of all time is Psalms 139.  My assignment is to read it every day this week and rewrite it in my own words. Maybe you should too.  This is my interpretation.

You know me so well Lord.  You know what I’m going to do before I do it!  You see my struggle, my anxious thoughts.  You put me on the right course by placing your hand on my head.

No matter where I end up you are already there.  You keep me from falling, you keep me from that hole.  You are right there every step…protecting me.  Helicoptering my every move…ready to scoop me up if necessary.

You love me so much that you had a plan for me before I was even conceived.  You watched me take shape.  You orchestrated the whole thing…giving breath and life to my being.  You know me inside and out.  You are my Creator and I am your beloved creation…utterly yours.

Because of that fact you think about me all the time.  You want the best for my life and countlessly check in on my daily walk.

Because of your devotion to me shouldn’t I despise sin and those in opposition to you?  Shouldn’t I defend you at all costs??

More than anything I want my life to be pleasing to you.  Use me Lord.  Show me what needs to change…the things that make you unhappy and reveal to me your perfect plan…your unwavering path for my every footstep.  This is my prayer.

8 thoughts on “where does my worth come from? {psalm 139, rewritten} (guest post by becky strahle)

  1. i’ve been sitting on this psalm lately, too. really needing it to permeate my soul.
    thank you for your thoughts. i just might take you up on your challenge to re-word it . . .

  2. This is beautiful Emily!
    I have been using Psalm 139 in workshops for several years. In my opinion there is nothing better for those of us who struggle with the dark side of self image. Your interpretation of the passage is personal and real. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

